Schreyer recognized as South Region Coach of the Year

Schreyer recognized as South Region Coach of the Year

NORMAN, Okla.  – Huntingdon Director of Golf Dave Schreyer was recently named the Golf Coaches Association of America's Division III South Region Coach of the Year.

The GCAA announced the National and Regional Coach of the Year winners for NCAA Division I, Division II, Division III, NAIA and NJCAA Division I and Division II.

This is the third time in the past four seasons Schreyer has been named Region Coach of the Year. Schreyer also received the recognition in 2016 and 2017.

Schreyer guided the Hawks to a No. 2 ranking this season, a fourth straight appearance in the NCAA Division III national tournament and the program's second runner-up finish in the past four seasons.

Huntingdon set its NCAA-era record for a four-round tournament with a 25-over-par 1177 in the championship tournament. The Hawks also set their NCAA-era season records for scoring average (288.61) par or better rounds (12), birdies (467) and eagles (17) this season.

The Hawks won five tournaments and finished in the top-six in all 11 tournaments this season. Huntingdon finished first or second in its final eight tournaments, including winning its first USA South Athletic Conference Tournament.

Schreyer, who was also named conference Coach of the Year for the third time in four seasons, won the conference championship by 26 strokes. Huntingdon's three-round total of 23-under 841 set the program's NCAA-era record for a three-round tournament. The team turned in four of the program's top-five three-round NCAA-era totals this season.

In six full seasons at Huntingdon, Schreyer's program has produced a Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year, three Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year finalists, 11 All-American selections, 13 All-Region selections, 19 All-Conference selections, two conference Golfers of the Year, two conference Rookies of the Year, 13 All-American Scholars and 44 Academic All-Conference selections.



Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award Presented by Golf Pride Grips


Division I - Conrad Ray, Stanford

Division II - Andy Walker, Lynn

Division III - Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan

NAIA - Bobby Cornett, Texas Wesleyan

NJCAA Division I - Walt Williams, Midland

NJCAA Division II - Aaron Putz, South Mountain



Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year


Division I

Northeast - Colin Sheehan, Yale

East - Jerry Haas, Wake Forest

Southeast - Scott Schroeder, North Florida

Midwest - Mike Small, Illinois

Central - Jason Enloe, SMU

West - Conrad Ray, Stanford


Division II

East - Matt Arvanitis, Southern New Hampshire

Atlantic - Will Johnson, Charleston (WV)

Southeast - Travis Muncy, Lincoln Memorial

South - Andy Walker, Lynn

Midwest - Gary Bissell, Grand Valley State

Central - Derek Schaub, Lindenwood

South Central - David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian

West - Val Verhunce, Sonoma State


Division III

Northeast - Matthew Greason, Trinity (CT)

Mid-Atlantic - Dan Rodgers, Carnegie Mellon

South - Dave Schreyer, Huntingdon

Great Lakes - Michael Leotta, Wittenberg

Central - Jim Ott, Illinois Wesleyan

West - Greg, Sigler (TX)



North - Cameron Andry, Taylor

South - Mike Cook, Coastal Georgia

Central - Bobby Cornett, Texas Wesleyan

West - Clayton Sikorski, Ottawa (AZ)


NJCAA Division I

District I - Zach Smith, Eastern Wyoming

District II - Walt Williams, Midland College

District III - Chris Young, Hutchinson

District IV - Dave Jennings, Central Alabama


NJCAA Division II

East - Tommy Snell, Mississippi Gulf Coast

Central - Corbin Sebens, Parkland

West - Aaron Puetz, South Mountain