McLean named honorable mention All-Conference

McLean named honorable mention All-Conference

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Huntingdon senior Brandon McLean was recognized as honorable mention All-Conference by the USA South Athletic Conference with the release of the men's basketball awards on Wednesday.

The 6-foot-7 McLean led Huntingdon in scoring (355 points/14.2 points per game), rebounding (216 rebounds/8.6 per game) and blocked shots this season (25), was third in steals (26) and fifth in assists (30). McLean was third in the USA South in total rebounds.

McLean closed the season strong, recording five double-doubles in the final seven games and helping the Hawks end the season with a three-game winning streak. McLean had nine double-doubles for the season.

In his final two games, McLean matched his career-high in scoring twice with 23 points in a 94-93 overtime win against Maryville and a 71-54 win over Berea. The win over Maryville snapped a 10-game losing streak to the Scots. McLean turned in a career-high 17 rebounds against Berea in his final game as a Hawk.

He ends his career with 787 career points, 531 career rebounds and 84 career blocks in 74 games.

Senior Wyatt Popovich was named to the All-Sportsmanship team. This is the third straight season Popovich has been recognized on the Sportsmanship team.

Averett's James Contreras was named Player of the Year and Berea's Torell Carter was named Rookie of the Year. Maryville's Randy Lambert was named Coach of the Year.

The complete All-Conference awards are listed below.


USA South All-Conference Men's Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: James Contreras, Averett

Rookie of the Year: Torell Carter, Berea

Coach of the Year: Randy Lambert, Maryville


First-Team All-Conference
Davion Ayabarreno, Methodist
Emier Bowman, Maryville
James Contreras Jr., Averett
Adrian Moore, N.C. Wesleyan
Justin Vallejo, Piedmont


Second-Team All-Conference
Alex Bonner, LaGrange
A.J. Frye, N.C. Wesleyan
Caleb Haynes, Covenant
Calvin Songster, Maryville 
Jackson Whitley, Methodist

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Elijah Alston, Piedmont
Dante Hoppa, Maryville
Brandon McLean, Huntingdon
Robert Wilson, N.C. Wesleyan


Brandon Baker, Averett
Gabe Hinton, Berea
Stevie Williams, Brevard
Berto Dryden, Covenant
RJ Turner, Ferrum
Demetrius Tilley, Greensboro
Wyatt Popovich, Huntingdon
Nate Rosetti, LaGrange
Malcolm Walker, Maryville
Dante Jackson, Methodist
Mitch Layton, N.C. Wesleyan
Brian Harper, Pfeiffer
Landry Assinesi, Piedmont
Maurice Canady, William Peace

Hawks hold off LaGrange
February 14, 2018 Hawks hold off LaGrange
Huntingdon loses at Ferrum
February 4, 2018 Huntingdon loses at Ferrum