Four Hawks selected to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Four Hawks selected to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas – Four Huntingdon College football players were recognized with the release of National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame's Hampshire Honor Society on Wednesday.

Offensive linemen Chris Hering and Adam Mann, defensive lineman Troy Mandris and linebacker Stephen Strickland were among 1,661 players from 426 schools named to the 2019 Hampshire Honor Society.

To be eligible for the Hampshire Honor Society, a player must have been a starter or significant contributor during their last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA or NAIA institution, maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers and met all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The 1,661 student-athletes recognized this year are the most in a single season since the inception of the program in 2007. The 426 participating schools are also the most since the program began. A total of 10,656 student-athletes have been honored in the history of the program.

Since 2007, Huntingdon has had at least one student-athlete recognized each year. Including Huntingdon's four newest members, a total of 63 Hawks have been chosen to the Hampshire Honor Society.

Huntingdon was one of eight schools in Alabama to have at least one player selected this year. Huntingdon was among three USA South Athletic Conference teams with players selected.


Huntingdon's previous Hampshire Honor Society selections

2018: Kevin Barnett, Chance Byrd, Chip Taylor 

2017: Hunter Booth, John Dunn, Nick Haas, William Harris, John Iwaniec, Brandon Mattox, Buck Robinson, Lake Romine, Jordan Shelby, Jordan Smith, Mark White

2016: Chael Pridgen, Jacob Wright

2015: Derick Bothwell, Brantley Carr, Michael Hill, Jimbo Turk, Ryan Williams

2014: Garrett Fletcher, Dakota Hooper, Cameron Lewis, Tyler Robinson, Ryne Taylor, Ryan White

2013: Tyler Hall, Neal Posey, Austin Worley

2012: A.J. Swift

2011: Quinn Hambrite, Drew Harrell, Jacob King, Steven Pennewitt

2010: Alex Baronich, Shane Corley, Steven Laye, Tal Lynn, Justin Ridgeway, Josh Robertson, Zach Sealy

2009: Philip Bailey, Caleb Hartin, Gary Nelson

2008: Will Brannon, C.J. Easterly, Zach Golson, Cliff Groce, Justin Nelson, Will Smith, Matt Thompson, Bryan Wells

2007: Mark Colson, Avery Ford, Yancey Gordon, Jacob Seales, Fred Shelby, Hodge Patterson